Blaise Alexander Nissan

Wyalusing second at Carlisle Tournament.

By: The Review | Towanda Daily Review | December 19, 2011


Wyalusing took second place at the 16 team Carlisle Tournament Saturday, runner-up to Class AAA school Big Spring.

"It was a really good tournament," Wyalusing coach Gary Hailey said. "All of our guys got down there and got to see some different competition, good competition. The team performed well, certainly as well as we had hoped."

Ryan Hart at 132 was their lone champion while Brandon Kelley (120) and Joe Champluvier (152) took home seconds.

They had four third place wrestlers: Tim Kutz (145), Anthony Clark (182), Dylan Otis (220) and Dan Frankenfield (170).

Clayton Force was fourth at 285, Werner Mendoza was fifth at 195 and Austin Shaffer took sixth at 106.

The Rams will travel to Milton this Tuesday then host Athens on Thursday.

Canton 42, South Williamsport 24

The Warriors used several forfeits at the higher weights to down South Williamsport in wrestling action Saturday.

South took the four lowest weights as Griffin Molino scored a 12-6 decision over Canton's Dylan Marbaker at 106; Christian Cioffi used a fall over Canton's Brennan Gleckner in 2:33 at 113; Andrew Gipe decisioned Warrior Dan Killian 7-2 at 120 and Nathan Jones edged Canton's Brooks Gleckner 5-3 at 126.

Canton took the next four.

At 132 Zach Pettigrew scored a 1-0 decision over South's Trever Brobst, at 138 Darren Killian pinned South's Ryan Seagrave in 5:09, at 145 John Bowman scored a fall over Mountaineer Kile Banzhof in 1:40 and at 152 Ben Pepper scored a fall over South's Zach Staver in 3:54.

Mountaineer Justin Knee edged Canton's Jacob Butcher 5-3 at 160.

The Warriors then scored three forfeits in a row: Chase Pepper at 170, Tyler Cole at 182 and Garrett Wesneski at 195.

Canton's Conner Route decisioned South's Ryan Orgitano 7-0 at 220 while at 285 South's Marco Estrella won by forfeit.

Randy Zigarski Memorial Wrestling Tournament

North Penn took second while Wellsboro came in fourth at the fourth annual Mt. Carmel tournament.

The Panthers had two champions: Nate Stettler (220) and Nate Kriner (285) while the Hornets came away with three: Nate Ingerick (126), Brandon Owlett (145) and Chad Daugherty (195).

Also for the Panthers Kevin Creamer (132), Ben Minnich (170) and Noah Corwin (182) took seconds, Lucas Groover (138) took third while Devin Remley (126) and C.J. Sargent (145) came in fourth.

For Wellsboro Josh Kennedy (138) took second, Eli Kennedy (220) was third and Adam Cleveland (113) finished fourth.